How to Pitch a Podcast if You’re a Book Publicist

Srinivas Rao
5 min readJul 19, 2019

Over the 10 years, I’ve been working on The Unmistakable Creative Podcast, I have received 100’s of pitches for potential podcast guests. People frequently ask me what makes me say yes, and what makes me say no. As I said in this piece on The Art of The Interview, it’s always based on personal curiosity. I could care less about how famous someone is.

Because of the platform I’ve built and being an author myself, I get lots of pitches from book publicist. But there’s one publicist who I’ve said yes to every single time she pitches a guest. Why do I say yes? Keep reading.

Respect Our Standards

A few years ago, my OWN publisher pitched a guest for the podcast. Then, they said the guest didn’t have time for a one hour interview and would only give us 30 minutes. I replied and said, “I’m sorry. In that case, we’ll have to pass.” An hour later I got a reply saying they somehow found the hour.

The assistant of a famous author tested me on this. She said, “he’ll provide more value in 30 minutes than all your other guests have in an hour.” I wanted to say, “How do you know that? Have you ever listened to our show?”

The issue here isn’t the amount of time. While most of the podcasters you pitch are not Oprah-level big, they put a lot of work into their…

--

--

Srinivas Rao

Candidate Conversations with Insanely Interesting People: Listen to the @Unmistakable Creative podcast in iTunes http://apple.co/1GfkvkP